Wike Bans All Forms Of #EndSARS Protests In Rivers State

WIKE - Wike Bans All Forms Of #EndSARS Protests In Rivers State

Governor Nyesom Wike has banned all forms of protests in Rivers State and particularly, the #EndSARS protests currently rocking many cities across the country.

The Governor in a statement on Monday evening, announced that no form of #EndSARS protest will be allowed in the state.

Wike in the statement signed by the State Commissioner for Information, Paulinus Nsirim said the decision to ban the protests followed the announcement by the Inspector-General of Police that the Special Anti-Robbery Squad (SARS) has been dissolved.

He, therefore, argued that since SARS has been dissolved, there is no need for the protests to continue.

Below is the full statement from the Rivers State government where he also ordered law enforcement agencies to ensure violators of the order face justice.

“The Rivers State Government hereby wish to inform the general public that all forms of protests have been banned throughout the State.”

“Therefore, all proposed protests under #EndSars Campaign are hereby prohibited.”

“Government took this decision because the Inspector General of Police, Mohammed Adamu, had already scrapped the Special Anti-Robbery Squad.”

“Therefore, there is no need for any form of protest against a Unit of the Police Force that no longer exists.”

“Parents and Guardians are therefore advised to ensure that their children or wards do not violate this order.”

“Law enforcement agencies are also directed to ensure that the ban is enforced and that violators are brought to book.

Meanwhile, six protesters arrested by officers of the Nigeria Police Force during the #EndSARS protest in Lagos State have been released.

Their release follows a directive to the Commissioner of Police by Lagos State Governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu who added that every citizen has the right to a peaceful protest and no one will be harassed for embarking on a peaceful protest.

The names of the released individuals are as follows:
1. Nkemakolam Okpara Felicia
2. Nduka Treasure Chiamaka
3. Adefita Olarenwaju
4. Adeola Adebayo
5. Ayodeji Ayeni
6. Adebola Ojabodu

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.